Detailed Overview of User Security Options

Detailed Overview of User Security Options

Is a user allowed to delete records? Do you want a user to export your data? Can a user access the Reports? We here at MST can’t answer that for you. It is your database and it is very important that you know what a given user can do in your database at any time. Information is expensive and we suggest you take your user security policy serious and read up on your options.

The Security Section of a User Record governs what a user is able to do within PCRecruiter. For each option you will be presented with a dropdown of choices depending on the section:

  • Full Permission = Unrestricted access to the section
  • No Permission =  No access to the section
  • Add, Save, Delete = The ability to add new, modify and remove records i
  • Add, Save = Cannot Delete records but may add and modify them
  • Add Only = Cannot Delete or Modify records but may add them
  • Read Only = Can view records but may not Add, Modify or Delete them

Companies

Use this section to set what a user can or cannot do with Company records and important sections within the Company record.

  • Records – This refers to all Company Records
  • Notes – This refers to the Notes section found in all Company Records
  • Activities – This refers to the Activity section found in all Company Records
  • Attachments – This refers to the Attachment section found in all Company Records
  • Text Search – This is a legacy option that does not apply to the new PCR 9
  • List – This governs the ability to place any Company Record onto a Planner
  • Change Company – This refers to the ability to move a name record from one company to another

Positions

Use this section to set what a user can or cannot do with Position records and important sections within the Position record.

  • Records – This refers to all Position Records
  • Details – This refers to the Details section of all Position Records
  • Activities – This refers to the Activity section found in all Position Records
  • Attachments – This refers to the Attachment section found in all Position Records
  • Text Search – This is a legacy option that does not apply to the new PCR 9
  • List – This governs the ability to place any Position Record onto a Planner

Names

Use this section to set what a user can or cannot do with Name records and important sections within the Name record.

  • Records – This refers to all Name Records
  • Notes – This refers to the Notes section found in all Name Records
  • Activities – This refers to the Activity section found in all Name Records
  • Attachments – This refers to the Attachment section found in all Name Records
  • Text Search – This is a legacy option that does not apply to PCR 9
  • List – This governs the ability to place any Name Record onto a Planner
  • Resume – This refers to the Resume section found in all Name Records

Reports

Use this section to limit access to the following Report sections:

 

  • **** Some reports may be exported to Excel. It is recommended to limit user access to these reports when you don’t want users to have the ability to export information.****

 

Other

  • System Administrator
    • Ignore All Security – Disregards any security settings above and gives the User unrestricted access to PCRecruiter. Use this for Admin rights.
    • No Permission – This setting restricts User access by blocking the User Name and Data Location areas of PCRecruiter
    • PCRecruiter Admin – This setting allows access to the Data Location section of PCRecruiter and restricts access to User Name section
    • User Records and Locations – This setting is best used for Web Masters/API Developers as it gives access to the Data Location and User Records
    • Data Locations Only – This setting is best used for Web Masters/API Developers as it gives access to the Data Location area
  • Activity Search Security – This governs whether the User is able to search other User activities
  • Commissions Costs – This governs whether a User may view and add Transactions to Company, Name and Position records
  • Share Schedule – This governs whether this User’s schedule may be viewed by other Users
  • Scheduling – This governs whether and how a User may use the Schedule
  • Rollup Lists – This governs whether and how a User may use Rollups
  • Interviews – This governs whether a User may add, save or delete Interview records
  • Keyword Tables – This governs whether a User may access the Keyword section under the System Tab
  • SQL Workbench – This governs whether a User may access the SQL Workbench section under the System Tab
  • Form Letters – This governs how a User  may interact with Form Letters (email templates)
  • Custom Fields – This governs whether a User may access Custom Company, Name and Position fields under the System Tab
  • Data Transfer – This governs whether a User is able to access the Export and Import options in Rollup Lists
  • EEO Data – This governs whether a User is able to see Gender, Race and Source on Name records
  • Email Manager – This is a legacy option and does not govern anything
  • Revenue Boards – This is a legacy option and does not govern anything
  • Write Incoming Emails – This governs whether a User may access the Write Activity options if using PCRMail
  • Allow Record Merging – This governs whether a User may merge duplicate Company or Name records
  • Background Check – This governs whether this User may perform Background Checks if you’ve integrated with a 3rd Party
  • HRNX Integration – This governs whether this User may access the HRNX tool if you’ve integrated with this 3rd Party option
  • Allow Option for Private Email – This governs whether a User may mark any outgoing email as Private. This stops the email from documenting an Activity in sender and recipient’s record.

Security Policy

  • Account is Disabled – Use this to prohibit access to PCRecruiter
  • Account is Locked Out – If a User makes 13 failed login attempts they will be prohibited from attempting a login for 24 hours
  • User Must Change Password at next Logon – Use this to force a password change for this User
  • User Cannot Change Password on MyPCR screen – Use this to remove the ability to change a password on the MyPCR screen
  • Hash Password at Database Level – Use this to encrypt this user’s password